Good Food, Wine…and a Proposal

This past weekend The Cape Town International Convention Centre hosted 10 Celebrity Chefs as part of The Good Food and Wine Festival, a weekend filled with amazing food, interactive cooking lessons and just good ol conversations with friends and family.

I attended the event on Saturday and it was definitely a learning experience, saying I have minimal cooking experience is an understatment but uh give me a can of bake beans and I’ll cook up a storm…

step 1 open up the can

step 2 throw in a pot

step 3 once cooked put this on toast and voila you have meal.

..ok geez I think I need help in this department right, well that is why I enjoy watching cooking shows sometimes and one of my favourites Neill Anthony was one of the celebs at this years show which was pretty cool.

There were many different exhibitors from which you could sample and even share idea’s, I tasted the second most strongest chilli paste in the world, it was extremely hot I was super glad I never tried the hottest otherwise I’d have killed my tastebuds for sure.

Another thing I am not really clued up on is cheese, so I was really excited to try some goat milk cheese which I would say is an acquired taste…

I have a friend from Lebanon. I told her that I was going to find a Lebanese resturant in Cape Town and send her a picture of the menu to help me choose something to eat, imagine my excitement when I found Ghenwa’s Lebanese Cooking Club. First thing I did was take a picture and send it to her, her reaction was priceless and yes I did try some of the food….don’t ask me what I ate though.

The wine, beer and spirit section were a real winner I think this was the most busy section…..well besides the Chefs Open Theatre and I was lucky enough to witness a lucky lady’s day made extra special when her fiance went on his knees in front of the crowd and proposed, all this was done while cooking with celebrity J Something – musician, chef, resturanteur – pretty awesome right.

The theme of this year’s Good Food & Wine Show is Food Waste, raising awareness to reduce food wastage, one thing I can say is that the burrito that I bought definitely didn’t go to waste, it went straight into my tummy and was so yummy….I had an amazing time at the show.

The show moves to Jozi and Durbs next, you guys are surely in for a treat.

Johannesburg

10h00-21h00 Friday 28 July and Saturday 29 July
10h00-18h00 Sunday 30 July

Ticketpro Dome

Durban

10h00-21h00 Friday 27 October and Saturday 28 October
10h00-18h00 Sunday 29 October

Durban Exhibition Centre

For more information on GFWS please visit www.goodfoodandwineshow.co.za or email info@fieramilano.co.za or call +27 (0)21 702 2280.

Leave a Reply

