Ride the Vibe

Sometimes you just have to ride the wave you given. You can’t stop the waves, but you can learn to surf…

Yesterday was the first time I went for a surfing lesson and I was super amped, the experience was amazing thanks to the crew at The Cape Town Surf School.

They made it that much more enjoyable, giving us a brief background of the board we were using a a quick lesson on how to stand up. (doing yoga helps alot if you want to try surfing – top tip#1).

I enjoyed the fact that the briefing was so short because all we really wanted to do was catch some waves, once our feet touched that freezing water we quickly realised why a wetsuit is important even though it is abit uncomfortable.

Surfing is harder than it looks, be prepared to be knocked around by the waves but the joy and  that exhilarating feeling you get when you stand on the board is totally worth it after all those bails.

Seeing that I survived my first lesson you could call me Barney apparently this is an inexperienced surfer, or someone who is no good at surfing..uh well ok in that case I say practise makes perfect, I will be back and it will be LEGEN….wait for it….DARY.

For now I’ll continue to brush up on the Surf Lingo….who knows one day I might just surf a Tube in J-Bay or the Australian Coast…

…it’s all about RIDING THE VIBE DUDE.



Leave a Reply

