I know I can

I know I can
Be what I wanna be
If I work hard at it
I’ll be where I wanna be
I know I can, I know I can
Be what I wanna be, be what I
wanna be
If I work hard at it
I’ll be where I wanna be, I’ll be
where I wanna be
Be b-boys and girls listen up

I just watched “Shake the Dust” a feature documentary as part of the Design Indaba film festival in Cape Town – The movie spans across three different countries but with one message – It doesn’t matter where you come from through hip-hop you can change the world. Directed by Adam Sjoberg and produced by Hip-Hop legend NAS we are taken into the slums/ghetto of Uganda, Yemen and Colombia where we witness how the love of dancing affects these youngsters lives and how they are using it to attend to the negative social issues in their respective counties.
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=dXaLLP6GJx4

Each person interviewed has a unique story, sad and inspiring at the same time. Hip-Hop is always associated with drugs and gangsterism and other negative influences but infact the love of dancing is actually an escape from these negative aspects that affect the ‘poor’ – I put poor in inverted comma’s as it is not only the poor affected by this negitivity, it affects everyone you can have all the money in the world but you will still have problems. It is how you attend to these problems like
Mahatma Gandhi says — ‘Be the
change that you wish to see in
the world.’

It is a well directed movie, thought provoking and gives one perspective into other areas of life you would not normally see, in the news they are always showing people running around Africa guns blazing, bomb blasts here and there but underlying this destruction there are kids using Hip-Hop to change the world. They are using the Hip-Hop culture to uplift other youngsters promoting education and self reliance – living in the ghetto teaches you to be strong and self dependant from a young age.

I enjoyed the dance moves especially the fact that there were B-girls also interviewed, woman can compete with the best of them given the opportunity.

…Like, I met a woman who’s becomin
a star
She was very beautiful, leavi’n
people in awe…

Do not let your surroundings affect your life, you can be anything you want to be – Believe in yourself and love what you do..

..I’ll be where I wanna be, I’ll be
where I wanna be
Save the music ya’ll
Save the music ya’ll
Save the music ya’ll
Save the music ya’ll
Save the music
http://www.metrolyrics.com/i-know-i-can-lyrics-nas.html

Leave a Reply

